Had a great time on Saturday at the Made in America Music Fest! Was missing my usual concert ladies but paired up with C and was able to get pretty close to the stages for Maybach, Passion Pit, Janelle Monae and Skrillex. Saw a little bit of Calvin Harris and heard Miike Snow from afar. Navigating the crowds made it difficult to see all of the shows I wanted, so we ended up seeing those grouped at the same stages or at least close to each other.
Memory was a little foggy throughout the day... Boozing started early and C was able to sneak some of her usual in. No cell service, so we never met up with the rest of our crew who was heading in later in the day but C and I managed to have an awesome time and see just about everything we wanted to.
My night peaked with an amazing performance by Jay Z who (followed by an Obama PSA on voting) performed some of my old favorites like 99 Problems, Dirt of Your Shoulder, and Big Pimpin. C and I danced our asses off and my legs are still sore haha He then pulled some friends on stage- Kanye, Common, Freeway, and Memphis Bleek- and did some of the newer songs. Was hoping for an appearance from Beyonce (he teased us by doing Bonnie and Clyde) but she never showed. The night ended with the whole group doing "N in Paris" and an awesome firework display.
All in all, a great mix of acts. Decent facilities, great sound. A little bit more crowded than I'm used to but definitely a great festival. I'm hoping they try this venue again soon with some indie-rock bands.
I'm usually pretty good about catching a few good pics or videos from a show but since I started drinking at 1 and got white girl wasted, when I went to see what I had the next morning, the only things I found were this short Skrillex clip and (oddly enough) the entire fireworks display haha (I blame C's party favors for the latter)
Oh and have I mentioned.. BRUCE. TONIGHT. CBP. HOLY. SHIZ. Haha sooo excited to see the Boss for the first time ever. I'll be the only one from Jersey in my group so for one night I'm going to celebrate my NJ roots and they can't say anything bad about it. :)